Who will hold the British Am Trophy

This week's British Amateur at Hillside and Hesketh Golf Clubs at Southport, north of Liverpool, sees six Australians competing in arguably the biggest amateur event in Europe this summer. The Australian contingent includes Ryan McCarthy, Brett Drewitt, Matt Stieger, Bryden MacPherson, Kalem Richardson and Chris Wood. They will be among the 288 world-ranked amateur golfers from 35 countries competing for a place in this year's British Open Championship and an invitation to the 2012 Masters Tournament. Who then will be holding the silverware come this Sunday for one of the world's biggest and oldest amateur championships? As to naming any main amateur's prospects for success in this modern game, speculation of this nature is often fraught with danger, yet there are some you tend to favour who will feature strongly over this coming week in Southport. We take a look at the probable hopefuls and what are the Australian chances to claim this prestigious title, a feat last achieved by an Australian fifty-seven years ago when Douglas Bachli claimed the title in 1954 at Muirfield. The qualification stroke-play stage of this British Amateur will be played on Monday and Tuesday with the top 64 players and ties qualifying for the match-play stage over four days staring Wednesday at Hillside Golf Club.

Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to iseekgolf.com newsletters.

iSeekGolf is Australia’s largest golf tee times website.
To book a tee time at an iSeekGolf venue, visit iseekgolf.com/teetimes


More Articles from Anthony Powter