enhance
Weekly Reader Poll

Weekly Reader Poll: Should Rahm Have Been Penalised?

Jon Rahm is the subject of yet another rules controversy, which occured at the European Tour's Irish Open.
Jon Rahm was not penalised for an incident on the sixth green during the final round of the Irish Open, despite failing to replace his ball in the same exact spot after marking it.

Rahm - who went on to win his first European Tour title by six shots - used his putter head to move his coin off playing partner Daniel Im's line, but after he moved his coin back and put his ball down, he failed to return it to the same location.

The European Tour's senior referee, Andy McFee, admitted Rahm's ball was returned to a different spot and explained why the 22-year-old Spaniard avoided a penalty.

Source: Twitter @EuropeanTour

Under Decision 34-3/10 of the R&A's Rules of Golf, which was changed in April following the Lexi Thompson controversy at the ANA Inspiration, a player can avoid penalty for incorrectly replacing their ball if they have used their “reasonable judgment” to determine where the ball was.

 But we want your opinion.

 

Question: Should Jon Rahm have been penalised for not replacing his ball in the same exact spot?
  • Yes
    34%
  • No
    66%

Join the discussion on Weekly iSeekGolf.com Reader Poll to explain your vote each week.
Visit Weekly Reader Poll Forum.

SIGN UP for the iSeekGolf forum.

----------

Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to iseekgolf.com newsletters.

iseekgolf.com