Victoria set to defend Interstate Series

The Victorian Men's interstate team are on track to make it two in a row at the Australian men's interstate teams series being contested this week at the Peninsula Country Club, south of Melbourne.

Bryden Macpherson, Daniel Beckmann, Luke Bleumink and Ashley Umbers, members of the 2008 winning team, are supported by newcomers, Kieran Pratt, Craig Hasthorpe and Rory Bourke, who have replaced Matt Griffin, Josh Younger, now in the professional ranks, and Leighton Lyle and Tom Prouse.

Last year at Sydney's Monash Country Club in a rain effected final day, Victoria finished on top of the leader board with a convincing 7&4 win over 2008 winners, New South Wales to take out the series.

The Victorians started their 2009 campaign in style with a solid 7&4 win over NSW in their opening match and followed that up with a 6 1/2 & 4 1/2 win today over Queensland.

Daniel Beckmann, runner-up to Scott Arnold back in March at the Australian Amateur Championship, remains undefeated in both the singles and foursome matches in this series, accounting for Brendan Smith, 2up, in their singles match yesterday and winning his second round encounter, 1up, against Queensland's Tim Hart.

Beckmann for the opening two rounds has been paired with Bryden Macpherson, the 2009 Australian and New Zealand Stroke Play Champion, with Victoria's top foursomes combination squaring their opening match against Brendan Smith and Michael Smyth from NSW and winning this morning, 4&3, against Queensland's Daniel Nisbet and Tim Hart.

Tasmania, who last won the series back in 1977, was today's second round mover, winning 7 1/2 to 3 1/2 over Western Australia, with Ryan McCarthy defeating Matt Jager, 2up, in the top order match, followed by Craig Hancock accounting for Jason Scrivener, 4&2. Tasmania won all but one of it's singles encounters against Queensland, with Western Australia's Brody Ninyette squaring his match with Greg Longmore.

Today's win for Tasmania builds upon their opening 6&5 win over Queensland and the Tasmanians currently are equal leaders with Victoria, whilst South Australia in a match behind.

New South Wales and Western Australia are yet to win a contest in these series.

Teams comprise of eight players who are be selected for foursomes and seven selected for singles matches in each contest. The tournament is scheduled to be played over five consecutive days, with each day consisting of four foursomes matches and seven singles matches to determine the contest. The final matches will conclude this Friday at Peninsula Golf Club with the team with the most contest won over the five days the series winner.

Anthony Powter
About The Author : Anthony Powter

Anthony brings a vast array of experience having covered the world's biggest golf Tours. An experienced photojournalist, his aim is to bring golf to life with articles of interest coupled with stunning photography.

More Articles from Anthony Powter