US Ryder Cup team qualifiers announced

The eight automatic qualifiers US Ryder Cup team have been finalised following the PGA Championship and now it will be up to US Captain David Love to finalise his team on September 4th at the completion of the Deutsche Bank Championship when he adds his four Captain's picks.

The team at present is Tiger Woods, Bubba Watson, Jason Dufner, Keegan Bradley, Webb Simpson, Zach Johnson, Matt Kuchar and Phil Mickelson.

Hunter Mahan, Steve Stricker, Jim Furyk and Rickie Fowler are the next in line in terms of their standing on the Ryder Cup points table but that offers no guarantee as to their selection.

There are in form and highly credentialed players close up on the list including the likes of Bo Van Pelt, Brandt Snedeker and Dustin Johnson and with two FedEx Cup playoffs events in which to impress Love, the selection process is still wide open.

One would think Stricker and Furyk are strong possibilities but outside of them there appears to be plenty of opportunity for others.

Mike Hulbert and Fred Couples had already been named as assistant captains but today Love also named Jeff Sluman and Scott Verplank as further assistants.

The European side will be finalised immediately following the Johnnie Walker Championship on August 26th.

Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to newsletters.

iSeekGolf is Australia’s largest golf tee times website.
To book a tee time at an iSeekGolf venue, visit


More Articles from Bruce Young