Tour News

Time honoured Crowns next for Japan Tour

(Photo: Bruce Young)
The Japan Tour this week plays its final event before a three week break with the time honoured Crowns tournament is played at the Nagoya Golf Club's Wago Course in Nagoya.

The event is one of the time honoured flagship events of the Japan Golf Tour dating back more then 50 years in fact this is the 55th anniversary edition. It was often a more 'international' event than is the case at present with a leading world class player regularly in the field.

Some of the winners of the event have been amongst the game's best including the likes of Seve Ballesteros, Greg Norman, Justin Rose, Darren Clarke and Lee Westwood but in more recent years the field has been more like a regular Japan Tour field.

Australians have had good success in this event with David Graham, Graham Marsh (twice), Greg Norman, Peter Senior and Brendan Jones all previous winners and Steve Conran, runner-up after a playoff.

One of Japan's two superstars Ryo Ishikawa, a winner in 2010 will play as will the defending champion and winner earlier this season, Michio Matsumura, along with the other two leading money list winners, Hiroyuki Fujita and Yusaku Miyazato.

Australasians in the field are Michael Hendry, Brad Kennedy, Steve Conran, Kurt Barnes, Scott Strange, David Smail, Richard Tate while NSW's Rhein Gibson, courtesy of his runner-up finish in the jointly sanctioned event in Indonesia earlier this year granted an invite.

Also in the field are 71 year old five time winner of the event, Isao Aoki, and another five time winner the 67 year old Masashi Ozaki.

Bruce Young
About The Author : Bruce Young

A multi-award winning golf journalist, Bruce's extensive knowledge of and background in the game of golf comes from several years caddying the tournament circuits of the world, marketing a successful golf course design company and as one of Australia's leading golf journalists and commentators.

More Articles from Bruce Young