Tour News

Three Aussies play inaugural US Senior Women's Open

The Chicago Golf Club hosts the inaugural US Senior Women's Open (Photo: USGA)
The inaugural staging of the US Senior Women’s Open is played this week at the Chicago Golf Club in Wheaton in Illinois will feature three Australians in the field.

Three-time major champion and 16 time LPGA Tour event winner, Jan Stephenson, is joined by US based South Australian Jane Crafter a winner of the Australian Open and Australian Ladies Masters (twice) titles and an LPGA Tour title and amateur Sue Wooster.

Wooster, from Victoria, secured her place in the field courtesy of a victory at the Canadian Women’s Senior Championship in Newfoundland last year.

The event is expected to be the forerunner to ongoing US Senior Women’s Open Championships and is expected to build from this base as some of the more recent greats of the game become eligible from the age of 50 such as Annika Sorenstam, Lorena Ochoa and Karrie Webb.

Players most likely to do well this year are two-time US Women’s Open winner Juli Inkster and Laura Davies both of whom are still regulars on the LPGA Tour.

Three-time U.S. Women’s Open winner Hollis Stacy (1977, 1978, 1984), Bradley, and 14 other champions – four of them two-time winners – are fully exempt from having to qualify for the championship.

They are Amy Alcott (1980), Jerilyn Britz (1979), Laura Davies (1987), Jane Geddes (1986), JoAnne Gunderson Carner (1971, 1976), Juli Inkster (1999, 2002), Betsy King (1989, 1990), Murle Lindstrom Breer (1962), Lauri Merten (1993), Liselotte Neumann (1988), Alison Nicholas (1997), Sandra Palmer (1975), Patty Sheehan (1992, 1994), and Jan Stephenson (1983).


Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to iseekgolf.com newsletters.

iSeekGolf is Australia’s largest golf tee times website.
To book a tee time at an iSeekGolf venue, visit iseekgolf.com/teetimes


More Articles from Bruce Young