Tour News

Strong Australasian Challenge at British Amateur Championship

Dylan Perry last year's runner-up in action in 2017. (Photo: R&A)
Twenty three Australasians will this week take to the Royal Aberdeen and Murcar Links in the north and east of Scotland, the large contingent amongst 288 players to play the British Amateur Championship or Amateur Championship as it is now known.

Thirty six holes of stroke-play will be played on Monday and Tuesday at both courses with the leading 64 moving through to the match-play phase at Royal Aberdeen.

Only two Australasians, both of those Australians, have won The Amateur Championship since it was first played in 1885, Victorians Doug Bachli in 1954 and Bryden Macpherson in 2011 capturing one of the amateur game’s most prestigious titles.

In 2017 the now Queensland based New South Welshman, Dylan Perry, was four up with five holes to play in his final against Harry Ellis before the Englishman fought back to win.

Jim Ferrier and Tim Stewart are other Australians to have gone so close to winning the title, Ferrier losing to Scotland’s Hector Thomson in 1936 while Stewart lost to American Drew Weaver in 2007.

Perry, now the world’s number 21 ranked male amateur and third highest ranked Australian is back in 2018 and no doubt keen to atone for his agonising loss last year.

He will be joined by fellow Australians Micheluzzi, Shae Wools Cobb, Blake Collyer, Blake Windred, Matias Sanchez, Zach Murray, Kiran Day, Charlie Dann, Will Heffernan, Jack Thompson, Darcy Brereton, Josh Armstrong, Kyle Michel, Lukas Michel, Ben Fergusson, Hugh Barron, James Grierson Jediah Morgan and Robbie Morrison along with New Zealanders Daniel Hillier, Luke Brown and Mark Hutson.

Micheluzzi is the leading world ranked Australian amateur in the field, West Australian Min Woo Lee the current 8th world ranked amateur and leading Australian not in the line-up.



Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to iseekgolf.com newsletters.

iSeekGolf is Australia’s largest golf tee times website.
To book a tee time at an iSeekGolf venue, visit iseekgolf.com/teetimes


More Articles from Bruce Young