It may sound like a silly thing to do, but it's exactly what South African Dylan Fritelli resorted to last week on the 71st hole of the European Tour's Mauritius Open.
Fritelli, 27, went on to win the tournament but it was his decision to pull out a compass on the 71st hole that also had people talking and some wondering whether he was in breach of the rules of golf (he wasn't).
Dialled-in FrittelliDuring his penultimate hole of yesterday's final round Dylan Frittelli was pictured using a compass in an attempt to gauge the wind direction. pic.twitter.com/LEpwbRuRwv— The European Tour (@EuropeanTour) December 4, 2017
Whether a golfer can gain any advantage from the use of a compass is a matter of debate, as is any school of thought that using a compass would create a slower pace of play.
What do you think?
Join the discussion on Weekly iSeekGolf.com Reader Poll to explain your vote each week. Visit Weekly Reader Poll Forum.
SIGN UP for the iSeekGolf forum.
Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to iseekgolf.com newsletters.