Australian Capital Territory

Royal Canberra again plays host to ALPG

(Photo: Bruce Young)
The Actew Royal Canberra Ladies Classic, which gets underway in Canberra of Friday, begins a five week stretch of significant events in Australasian women's professional golf. This week's tournament will be followed by the Bing Lee Samsung Women's NSW Open at Oatlands in Sydney, the RACV Royal Pines Australian Ladies Masters on the Gold Coast, the ISPS Handa Women's Australian Open at Royal Melbourne and the New Zealand Women's Open at the Pegasus Golf Course in Christchurch. The ActewAGL Royal Canberra Ladies Classic is played, as the name suggests, at the superb Royal Canberra Golf Club in the nation's capital, the event into its third season as a 54 hole event. Previous winners of the event in its current format have been Kristie Smith, who, when winning in 2010, won her first event as a professional and, in 2011, Queensland amateur Ashley Ona surprised with a one shot victory over a strong field. The $130,000 event includes the defending champion, Ona, who remains as an amateur, Kristie Smith, Lindsey Wright, Sarah Kemp, Nikki Campbell, Tamie Durdin, Sarah Jane Smith, Frances Bondad, Karen Lunn, England's Laura Davies, recent Victorian Open champion Joanna Klatten from France and Norway's Marianne Skarpnord.

Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to iseekgolf.com newsletters.

iSeekGolf is Australia’s largest golf tee times website.
To book a tee time at an iSeekGolf venue, visit iseekgolf.com/teetimes


More Articles from Bruce Young