Tour News

NZ wins Sanctuary Cove Trophy

(Photo: Bruce Young)
The New Zealand Seniors team has defended their Sanctuary Cove Trophy in style in two days of exciting match-play golf at the Sanctuary Cove Golf Club in Queensland.

The Kiwis won all three events (foursomes, fourball and individual) to record an overall winning margin of 14.5 to 9.5 matches.

The final day was especially close with eight of the 12 matches going to the 18th hole.

New Zealand led by four points heading into the individual matches on the final afternoon and secured a 6.5 "“ 5.5 win in the singles to complete a memorable tournament.

Taranaki's Murray Martin, who won the Australian Seniors Championship last week, where he became only the third golfer to have won the Australian Seniors and NZ Seniors titles, continued his good form winning in all three of his matches.

The New Plymouth golfer's 1up win over Peter King in the final match of the day secured the clean-sweep in all three divisions for the NZ team.

The only other player in the NZ side who won all of their matches was Ngaruawahia's Phillip Hunter.

The win by the New Zealand Seniors gives them the overall lead in Sanctuary Cove Trophy matches with four wins to Australia's three titles over the past seven years.

The next match will be played in 2014 in New Zealand.

Sanctuary Cove Trophy results

New Zealand 14.5 Australia 9.5

Foursomes: New Zealand 3.5 Australia 2.5
Murray Martin and Mike Leitch bt Stefan Albinski and Steve Gibson 4 & 3, Phil Hunter and Andrew McKechnie bt Groy Vandersluis and Ian McPherson 5 & 4, Arthur Parkin and Frank Borren halved with Robert Payne and Ross Bockman, Tony Treen and John Batley bt Richard Greville and Alan Bullas 3 & 2, John Sanders and Robbie Bell lost to Vince Clark and David Limbach 2 & 1, Rodney Barltrop and Michael Barltrop lost to Denis Dale and Peter King 2 & 1

Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to iseekgolf.com newsletters.

iSeekGolf is Australia’s largest golf tee times website.
To book a tee time at an iSeekGolf venue, visit iseekgolf.com/teetimes


More Articles from iseekgolf.com