Tour News

NSW Amateur Champs begin Wednesday

(Photo: Golf NSW)
A host of the world's leading amateur golfers will contest this year's Men's NSW Amateur Championship (incorporating the NSW Medal and 2012 NSW Club Champion of Champions) withteams competing from England, New Zealand, United States of America, Canada and Nigeria.

This year will see Sydney's East play host to this prestigious event, with Bonnie Doon Golf Club, The Coast Golf Club and the magnificent Royal Sydney Golf Club being utilized. The event is held over six days from Wednesday 30 January to Tuesday 5 February (no play on Saturday 2 February).

The NSW Amateur Championship is the oldest major event conducted by Golf NSW having first been played in 1898. The list of former winners contains a who's who of NSW and Australasian Golf greats
including the likes of Bruce Devlin, Jack Newton, Tony Gresham, Brett Ogle, Peter O'Malley, Michael Campbell and Brendan Jones. It is the first men's state Championship of the year, one of the major
national amateur tournaments, and is a National and World Ranking Event.

"This championship attracts the best amateur golfers in the state, both young and old, plus leading golfers from other states and internationally. With the final two players having played six grueling days of golf, it really is a test of skill, mental strength, and endurance," remarked Graeme Phillipson, General Manager "“ Golf, Golf NSW.

"This year we've got fantastic host courses and a really strong competitive field. It really is going to be a great Championship. England have sent a strong squad including 2012 NSW Medal winner, Neil Raymond (Corhampton, Hampshire, IOW &CI) who will be back for the third consecutive year. He will be joined by Garrick Porteous (Bamburgh Castle, Northumberland), Craig Hinton (The Oxfordshire, BB&O) and current world number 46, Nathan Kimsey (Woodhall Spa Lincolnshire).

Three of the four (all bar Kimsey) were members of England's Eisenhower Trophy team that finished eighth in Turkey last year. Raymond is an England international regular during the year, the most successful player in the Eisenhower Trophy and represented GB&I against Europe in the St Andrews Trophy last year. He is in good form, finishing 9th in the Australian Amateur last week. Porteous had a solid round at the Australian Master of the Amateurs in early January, finishing 6th overall.

Plenty of inter-state visitors are also in town for the event, with representatives from Western Australia, Victoria, Queensland, South Australia and Tasmania. Of the interstate visitors Victorian's Todd Sinnott (Metropolitan Golf Club), and Ben Eccles (Victoria Golf Club) will be the ones to watch.

19-year-old Sinnott has had a cracking start to the year, finishing runner-up in the Australian Amateur. He is getting noticed for his solid game and impressive ball striking, last year taking out the Dunes Medal, his first main amateur win outside the junior ranks. During the 2011 US amateur season, Sinnott did not miss the cut in each of the main events he entered "“ including a top-10 finish
at the Players Amateur.

Eccles is another talented youngster, last year taking out the Srixon International Junior Classic in NSW. He has represented Australian in the Junior Pacific Cup and the Aaron Baddeley International
Junior Championship.

From NSW the ones to watch include last year's overall NSW Amateur Championship winner Brett Drewitt (Long Reef Golf Club) and youngster Ricky Kato (The Australian Golf Club). Both are state representatives and current Australian squad members. Drewitt will be out to defend his title.

The NSW Amateur Championship is open to male amateur golfers who hold a current Australian or overseas equivalent handicap that does not exceed 5.4. 2012 Club Champions from NSW Golf Clubs are eligible to enter the Championship and are exempt from the handicap limit.

The NSW Medal will be played at Bonnie Doon and The Coast Golf Clubs on 30 January, 31 January and 1 February 2013. It is four rounds of 18-holes stroke play, played over three days; 18-holes on the first day (Wednesday), 18-holes on the second day (Thursday), and 36-holes on the third day (Friday).

The field is evenly divided between the two venues for the first day's play with players changing venues for their second round on the Thursday. The leading 60 players plus ties after the first 36- holes qualify for the final 36-holes on the third day, which will be played at Bonnie Doon Golf Club. The winner of the 72-holes stroke play section of the Championship is the winner of the 2013 NSW

The 2012 Club Champion of Champions will be played in conjunction with the first 36-holes of the NSW Medal.

The leading 32 players from the NSW Medal will be eligible to compete in the NSW Amateur Championship Match Play, each match played over 18-holes other than the Final which is played over 36-holes. The match play will be seeded, and will be played at The Royal Sydney Golf Club on 3- 5 February 2013.

The morning session on the first day (Monday) will see all 32 players compete. The afternoon session will have the winning 16 players from the morning session playing another round.

Tuesday's morning session, the quarter finals, has eight players competing, while the afternoon session and semi-final will see the top four players challenging for a spot in the Final.

Wednesday 5th February is the Final, and the top two players will battle it out over 36 holes to be crowned the 2013 Men's NSW Amateur Champion.

Men's NSW Amateur Championship honour roll

1898 H MacNeil
1899 H MacNeil
1900 E Macarthur
1901 E Simpson
1902 W Martin
1903 D Soutar
1904 D Soutar
1905 Not Played
1906 O O'Brien
1907 E Simpson
1908 O O'Brien
1909 M Scott
1910 M Scott
1911 O O'Brien
1912 E Apperly
1913 W Sturrock
1914 J Howden
1915-18 WW I
1919 T Howard
1920 E Apperly
1921 T Howard
1922 E Apperly
1923 F Murdoch
1924 H McLelland
1925 H Sinclair
1926 H Morrison
1927 E Apperly
1928 C Fawcett
1929 I Whitton
1930 E Apperly
1931 J Ferrier
1932 R Bettington
1933 H Hattersley
1934 J Ferrier
1935 H Hattersley
1936 T McKay
1937 J Ferrier
1938 J Ferrier
1939 A Waterson
1940 A Waterson
1941-45 WW II
1946 K Enderby
1947 A Waterson
1948 A Waterson
1949 P Heard
1950 H Hattersley
1951 K Pix
1952 K Pix
1953 H Berwick
1954 K Pix
1955 H Berwick
1956 R McCarthy
1957 N Bartell
1958 B Devlin
1959 P Langham
1960 E Ball
1961 P Billings
1962 K Donohoe
1963 K Donohoe
1964 B Baker
1965 V Bulgin
1966 W Tobin
1967 S Brown
1968 J Newton Jnr
1969 D Sharp
1970 A Gresham
1971 H Berwick
1972 A Gresham
1973 H Berwick
1974 C Kaye
1975 P Wood
1976 C Kaye
1977 C Kaye
1978 P Wood
1979 A Bosch
1980 I Hood
1981 E Couper
1982 A Gresham
1983 A Dight
1984 L Peterson
1985 B Ogle
1986 P O'Malley
1987 R Picker
1988 R Willis
1989 R Dannock
1990 S Conran
1991 L Parsons
1992 M Campbell
1993 M Ecob
1994 D Bransdon
1995 B Jones
1996 B Lamb
1997 B MacDonald
1998 D Mackay
1999 C Campbell
2000 W Dews
2001 R Payne
2002 R Swift
2003 C Moriarty
2004 G Flint
2005 M Brown
2006 W J Lee
2007 G Wolstenholme
2008 M Raseta
2009 M Smyth
2010 J Higgingbottom
2011 J Senior
2012 B Drewitt


Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to iseekgolf.com newsletters.

Golf NSW