The five-time major winner sparked a storm of controversy at Shinnecock Hills when he deliberately hit a moving ball on the 13th green then told host broadcaster FOX Sports he did so deliberately to ‘take advantage of the rules.”
Mickelson was assessed a two-stroke penalty for his actions (under rule 14-4) prior to completing his round but the controversy began in earnest when he spoke to Curtis Strange after signing his card.
"I was just going back and forth and I'd gladly take the two shots over continuing that display,” he said.
"No question it was going to go down into the same spot behind the bunker. You take the two shots and you move on."
Strange pressed Mickelson on whether his actions disrespected the game and the Californian responded he didn’t feel they did.
"It was meant to take advantage of the rules as best as you can,” he said.
“I don't mean it in any disrespect and if that's the way people take it, I apologise."
He later told reporters anyone who felt aggrieved by his actions should ‘toughen up’.
Those comments had several people claiming Mickelson should be disqualified under rule 1-2 which states the Committee has that option should they consider the action a ‘serious breach’.
Rule 1-2 states: “A player must not (i) take an action with the intent to influence the movement of a ball in play or (ii) alter physical conditions with the intent of affecting the playing of a hole.”
However there is a note attached ot the rule which says: “A player is deemed to have committed a serious breach of Rule 1-2 if the Committee considers that the action taken in breach of this Rule has allowed him or another player to gain a significant advantage or has placed another player, other than his partner, at a significant disadvantage.”
Many feel Mickelson’s admission after the round that he was trying to ‘take advantage of the rules’ made the act more serious, including former USGA Executive Director turned FOX analyst David Fay.
Fay was initially supportive of the two shot penalty decision but later in the commentary, after Mickelson’s interview had been aired, he changed his opinion.
“I probably would have lost,” he said after Mickelson spoke with Curtis Strange ‘but I would have lobbied for disqualification.”
Mickelson’s actions caused a storm on social media with fellow players, fans and analysts weighing in on the ruling.
So he didn't purposely stop the ball for his benefit?? Ok .. so running after the ball after he saw he was going to run 50 yards off the green was just a veteran move to keep his hamstrings warm.. gotcha— bowdo (@bowdo83) June 16, 2018
What a crock of shite. Rules guy John Bodenhamer - “the ball wasn’t purposely deflected or stopped!!!’ So the ball ran across the green and crashed into his putter face? Talk about interpreting the rules to suit yourself.— Tony Johnstone (@TonyJohnstone56) June 16, 2018
USGA ANNOUNCEMENT:— Denis Pugh (@Dpugh54) June 16, 2018
Each player will be given the option to roll the dice instead of putting.
Double six means you holed it pic.twitter.com/elTRy1fBTE
MICKELSON TALKS TO CURTIS STRANGE AFTER HIS ROUND:
Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to iseekgolf.com newsletters.