Tour News

Magnificent Seven Advance To Matchplay At The Amateur

Matias Sanchez is one of seven Australians to advance to matchplay at The Amateur Championship in Scotland (Photo: Henry Peters )
Seven Australians have played their way to the Matchplay section of The Amateur Championship in Scotland.

Kyle Michel, Blake Collyer, David Micheluzzi, Will Heffernan, Ben Ferguson, Jediah Morgan and Matias Sanchez were all among the qualifiers after two days of strokeplay at Royal Aberdeen and Murca Links.

Historically there are only 64 qualifiers but with a total of 77 players finishing at the mark or better there will be 13 matches played to determine the make-up of the final 64, Matias Sanchez among the 13 hoping to advance.

Victorians Michel and Collyer were among only eight players to finish under par after 36 holes, their 2-under totals good for a share of fifth.

Another Victorian pair, David Micheluzzi and Will Heffernan, posted 3-over totals to share 18th while Western Australia’s Ben Ferguson was a stroke further back and T25.

Queensland’s Jediah Morgan and former Australian Amateur winner Matias Sanchez both finished 5-over and T40, one shot ahead of the final group of qualifiers.

Eighteen Australians were among the 288 golfers from around the world who began the event, 11 failing to advance to the matchplay including last year’s finalist Dylan Perry. 

It was a disappointing finish for Perry who missed by a single shot despite making a gutsy birdie at his final hole of the second round.

Also missing out were: Blake Windred, Lukas Michel, Shae Wools-Cobb, Charlie Dann, Haydn Barron, James Grierson, Kiran Day, Jack Thompson, Darcy Brereton, and Josh Armstrong.

In the first round of matchplay Matias Sanchez will play Sweden’s Elis Svard while Jediah Morgan will take on England’s Tom Sloman.

Ben Ferguson will meet South African Malcolm Mitchell, Will Heffernan is up against Scotland’s Stuart Easton and Kyle Michel plays Ireland’s James Sugrue.

Blake Collyer and David Micheluzzi have yet to have their opponents determined as both are part of the 13 matches to determine the final qualifiers.

Daniel Hillier was the only one of the three New Zealanders to make it through, the Wellingtonian sharing 25th place.


Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to iseekgolf.com newsletters.

iSeekGolf is Australia’s largest golf tee times website.
To book a tee time at an iSeekGolf venue, visit iseekgolf.com/teetimes


More Articles from Rod Morri