LPGA Awards announced

With the LPGA Tour season drawing to a close at last week's CME Group Titleholders Championship in Florida, the LPGA Awards for 2012 are now finalised.

The Rolex Player of the Year title goes to an American for the first time since 1994. Lewis finishes the season as the number three ranked player in women's golf behind Yani Tseng and Na Yeon Choi but with four wins and three runner-up finishes on the LPGA Tour (including her season opening playoff loss at the Australian Open) she has been rewarded for her consistency.

Perhaps Inbee Park could be considered a little unlucky not to have claimed the award given her seven runner-up finishes and two victories one of which was at the Evian Masters. The greater number of victories no doubt played in Lewis' favour however.

Park played a massive 33 events worldwide in 2012, recording top tens in 18 of the last 23 of those starts although not all were LPGA Tour events. She did however claim the money list title with earnings of nearly US$2.3 million.

Na Yeon Choi might also have been a consideration having won two big events, the US Women's Open and the CME Title holders events and finished runner-up on three other occasions.

The Rookie of the Year title goes to the brilliant So Yeon Ryu who despite winning the 2011 US Women's Open did not play full time on the LPGA Tour until this year. Ryu finished the season in 8th position in the Rolex Rankings, winning just once but recording eleven other top five finishes.

Bruce Young
About The Author : Bruce Young

A multi-award winning golf journalist, Bruce's extensive knowledge of and background in the game of golf comes from several years caddying the tournament circuits of the world, marketing a successful golf course design company and as one of Australia's leading golf journalists and commentators.

More Articles from Bruce Young