Lake Macquarie Amateur begins Thursday

The Men's Lake Macquarie Amateur Championship continues the summer of amateur golf in Australia when the now time honoured event gets underway at the Belmont Golf Club south of Newcastle this Thursday.

First played in 1958, the event has now developed into one of the leading amateur events in the country and with a winners list that includes the likes of Geoff Ogilvy, Brett Rumford, Peter O'Malley, Marc Leishman and Danny Lee, to name but a few, it is seen as a significant stepping stone to a professional career.

Leading entrants in the field are the finalists at last week's Australian Amateur Championship, Tae Koh (winner) and Curtis Luck, Master of the Amateurs Champion Simon Viitakangas, leading ranked Australian amateur Taylor Macdonald, defending champion Josh Munn from New Zealand, Victorians Todd Sinnott and Geoff Drakeford, NSW's Jordan Zunic and Dale Brandt Richards, WA's Jarryd Felton, Queensland's Aaron Wilkin and Munn's fellow New Zealanders, Vaughn McCall, Ryan Chisnall, Sam An and Tyler Hodge.

Last week's leading qualifier at the Australian Amateur Ryan Evans of the UK is in the field along with fellow UK golfers, Harry Casey, Jack Bush, Gus Mottershead, Craig Melding and Adam Batty.

The tournament is played over 72 holes finishing on Sunday 26th.

The Women's Lake Macquarie Amateur Championship was played two weeks ago with South Australian Jenny Lee edging West Australian Hannah Green in a playoff for the title.

Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to newsletters.

iSeekGolf is Australia’s largest golf tee times website.
To book a tee time at an iSeekGolf venue, visit


More Articles from Bruce Young