Tour News

Kaymer secures Ryder Cup berth

(Photo: Getty Images)
Martin Kaymer was today confirmed as the last of the ten automatic qualifiers for The 2012 European Ryder Cup team who will travel to Medinah Country Club, Chicago, seeking to retain The Ryder Cup from September 28-30.

After visiting 23 countries through 48 events, the year-long Ryder Cup qualification race drew to a close at the Johnnie Walker Championship at Gleneagles and all ten players "“ five from the European Points List and five from the World Points List "“ will head to the United States with previous Ryder Cup experience.

With Nicolas Colsaerts unable to claim the top two finish he needed to earn an automatic place in the final qualifying event, Kaymer maintained his position as tenth on the qualifying table.

European Captain José María Olazábal will announce his two wild cards at 12:00 BST on Monday to complete the 12-man team who will take on the United States next month.

The ten qualifiers are:-

Luke Donald
Sergio Garcia
Peter Hanson
Martin Kaymer
Paul Lawrie
Graeme McDowell
Rory McIlroy
Francesco Molinari
Justin Rose
Lee Westwood

The ten confirmed members of the Team will have played in a combined 23 Ryder Cup matches with a record of Won 52, Lost 29 and Halved 18, contributing a total of 61 points.

Their ages range from 23 to 43 - the youngest being World Number One Rory McIlroy, who qualified top of the list to secure his second Ryder Cup cap at the age of 23, and the oldest Paul Lawrie, who will also be playing his second Ryder Cup 13 years after making his debut.

Seven of the ten "“ Donald, Hanson, Kaymer, McDowell, McIlroy, Molinari, Westwood - played in the victorious 2010 European Team at The Celtic Manor Resort, where McDowell claimed the winning point in the dramatic 14 ½ - 13 ½ victory two years ago.

The ten players now confirmed for the team will come together to represent Europe from seven different countries - England, Germany, Italy, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Spain and Sweden.

Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to iseekgolf.com newsletters.

iSeekGolf is Australia’s largest golf tee times website.
To book a tee time at an iSeekGolf venue, visit iseekgolf.com/teetimes


More Articles from European Tour