Senden was at 2 under par as he prepared to hit his tee shot on Royal Pines' par-five ninth hole but his fortunes turned dramatically after he began his downswing.
The Queenslander's driver snapped midway down the grip and, in a bizarre turn of events, he didn't make contact with the ball which remained pegged on a tee in the ground.
Pandemonium ensued as a rules official was called in and told Senden that his airswing would count as a shot.
Have you ever seen anything like this?November 29, 2018
Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to iseekgolf.com newsletters.