Elite Amateur

Jarrod Lyle Tribute at Eisenhower Trophy

The Australian team of (from left): David Micheluzzi, Min Woo Lee and Shae Wools-Cobb. (Photo: Golf Australia)
Australia’s team at this week’s men’s World Amateur Team Championships in Ireland has paid tribute to the late Jarrod Lyle with Leuk the Duck head covers as they prepare to defend the nation’s title from 2016.


World number 13 amateur Min Woo Lee joins world number 16 David Micheluzzi and 41st ranked Shae Wools-Cobb in the Australian line-up which will tee off early Wednesday morning local time on the Montgomerie Course at Carton House near Dublin.

Former US Junior Champion Lee enters as Australia’s most credentialed competitor but all three are making their first appearance at the biennial World Amateur which will also be played on Carton House's O'Meara Course.

Lee, Micheluzzi and Wools-Cobb have big shoes to fill two years on from the brilliant victory in Mexico by the team of Cameron Davis, Curtis Luck and Harrison Endycott.

More than 70 nations are vying for the premier title in amateur team golf and the world rankings suggest favouritism rests with the Americans.

The US team of Justin Suh, Collin Morikawa and Cole Hammer have respective world rankings of 2nd, 3rd and 7th.

Each team plays 72 holes of stroke play over four days with the best two scores from each day counting towards each team's total score.

Australia has won the men’s Eisenhower Trophy four times - 1958, 1966, 1996 and 2016 - but never in back-to-back stagings.

Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to iseekgolf.com newsletters.

iSeekGolf is Australia’s largest golf tee times website.
To book a tee time at an iSeekGolf venue, visit iseekgolf.com/teetimes


More Articles from Henry Peters