Tour News

Huge Aussie contingent at Southern Am

(Photo: Simon Watts BW Media)
The Southern Amateur Championship begins on Wednesday at the Honors Course Ooltewah in Tennessee.

The event has a history dating back to 1902 and has witnessed some of the greats of American golf including major winners, Hubert Green, Lanny Wadkins, Ben Crenshaw, Bill Rogers, Bob Tway, Mark Brooks, Justin Leonard and Webb Simpson to name a few.

Originally played as a match play contest, the Southern Amateur Championship became a 72 hole stroke play event in 1964 and has remained that way since.

Australians have had success in the event also with Lee Eagleton winning in 1995 and in 2004 Michael Sim successful.

In 2014 a large contingent of Australians and New Zealanders are in the field.

Australians Aaron Wilkin, Cory Crawford, Jarryd Felton, Antonio Murdaca, Cameron Davis, Jordan Junic, Todd Sinnott, Dale Brandt-Richards, Sam Daley, Simon Viitakangas, Jarrod Freeman, Geoff Drakeford and Ben Eccles will be hoping to make it three Aussie victories in the event.

New Zealanders Hayden Beard, Vaughn McCall, Cameron Jones, Luke Toomey and Josh Munn make up a strong Australasian challenge for the title which offers, for the winner, not only the prestigious title but a start at the Arnold Palmer invitational in Orlando next year.

Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to iseekgolf.com newsletters.

iSeekGolf is Australia’s largest golf tee times website.
To book a tee time at an iSeekGolf venue, visit iseekgolf.com/teetimes


More Articles from Bruce Young