Lexi Thompson’s 4-shot penalty sparked by her improperly replacing her ball at the first major of the year – the ANA Inspiration – certainly drew the most headlines of any rules drama to date.
It even triggered a change to the rules of golf regarding video evidence, ensuring a player could escape penalty if found to have replaced their ball in the wrong spot on the green as long as “reasonable judgment” was used.
It was that rule change that allowed Jon Rahm to avoid penalty for clearly replacing his ball in the wrong place on the green at the European Tour’s Irish Open, which he went on to win by six shots.
Some critics suggested Rahm should have been penalised.
Last month, the final women’s major of the year, the Evian Championship, was reduced to 54 holes after the LPGA Tour decided to cancel the first round because of inclement weather.
Dozens of players had completed up to 8 holes on the Thursday and tournament organisers faced criticism for deciding against a suspension of play that would have kept alive the possibility of a 72-hole event.
And last week, the Korean LPGA Tour made a rare appearance in global golf headlines after it too cancelled the opening round of an event but for reasons very different to what transpired at Evian.
First round scores at the KB Financial Star Championship were scrapped because of player confusion caused by the fringe and the green not being clearly defined.
- Lexi Thompson's 4-shot penalty which cost her a major title at the ANA Inspiration56%
- Jon Rahm avoiding a penalty after a similar incident on his way to winning the Irish Open9%
- The Evian Championship - a women's major - reduced to 54 holes on Thursday because of weather6%
- Cancelling Round 1 of the KLPGA's KB Financial Star Championship28%
Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to iseekgolf.com newsletters.