Tour News

Eight teams named for LPGA International Crown

Eight teams have been named for next year's LPGA International Crown matchplay tournament, based on rankings of the nations' players.

Eight teams have been named Thursday for next year's LPGA International Crown matchplay tournament based on the world rankings of the nations' players.

Australia, Japan, Spain, South Korea, Sweden, Taiwan, Thailand and the United States are set to contest the first edition of the biennial event in July at Caves Valley Golf Club in Maryland.

The teams were announced on the opening day of the LPGA's season-ending Titleholders tournament.

But the four players that were used for the qualifying points won't necessarily be those who comprise the teams come July.

For example, the four players whose rankings insured South Korea's qualification were were world number one Park In-Bee, number four Ryu So-Yeon, number six Choi Na-Yeon and number nine I.K. Kim.

However, if any of them falter at the start of the 2014 season, number 14 Shin Ji-Yai or number 15 Amy Yang could play their way onto the team.

The final rosters for the pre-qualified countries will be set on March 31, which is the Monday before next season's first LPGA major, the Kraft Nabisco Championship.

The International Crown will feature three days of team four-ball matches before Sunday singles matches.

The eight countries will be split into two pools and each country will play two four-ball matches versus each of the other three countries in its pool.

The top two-point earning teams from each pool and one wild-card team will advance to singles play.

The team with the highest four-day point total will win.

Ryu predicted the wealth of talent among Korea's women golfers would make for fierce competition to make the team, with players eager for a chance to represent their country in a global tournament.

"Also, you know, we're going to play the Olympics in 2016, so it's going to be a really great warm-up before we play the Olympics," she said.


Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to iseekgolf.com newsletters.

iSeekGolf is Australia’s largest golf tee times website.
To book a tee time at an iSeekGolf venue, visit iseekgolf.com/teetimes


More Articles from