The details surrounding Papadatos' disqualification from the Ras Al Khaimah Challenge Tour Grand Final have not been confirmed.
At 19th in the season-long Race to Ras Al Khaimah standings entering this week's finale and with 15 European Tour cards on offer, only a high finish would be helpful to Papadatos.
The 27-year-old's opening round at Ras Al Khaimah Golf Club started well with four birdies in six holes and he made the turn at three under.
But his round was derailed by a a triple bogey on the par-four 10th and a quadruple bogey on the par-four 12th.
UK golf writer Phil Casey reported via Twitter that Papadatos was disqualified for using a damaged club.
A costly fit of pique for Dimitrios Papadatos in @Challenge_Tour grand final, DQ'd for "Breach of Rule 4-3 (b) Decision 4-3/4 - Club bent in anger on Hole 12, used again on Hole 14. Damage discovered on Hole 17."— Phil Casey (@pcaseysafc) October 31, 2018
The Challenge Tour website shows Papadatos completed a round of three over 75 before being disqualified.
Papadatos - a three-time winner on the PGA Tour of Australasia - was the only Australian in the 45-man field.
Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to iseekgolf.com newsletters.