Tour News

Denmark claims another World Title at Eisenhower

The Denmark side celebrates (Photo: USGA Steve Gibbons)
Denmark has added the World Amateur Teams Championship to its World Cup of Golf title with a gripping one-shot victory over the USA at Carton House near Dublin.

The team of identical twins Nicolai and Rasmus Hojgaard, and John Axelsen held off strong challenges from the USA and Spain on a final day where so many permutations were still in play until the final moments.

The Denmark side of Soren Kjeldsen and Thorbjorn Olesen had won the World Cup of Golf in Melbourne in 2016.

Spain finished 3rd two shots behind the USA and New Zealand finished 4th after its side had led by three heading into the final day.

Australia finished in a share of 12th place and 13 shots from the winner.

 “I feel wonderful,” said Nicolai Rasmus. “This is a dream come true for all of us. I had a tough start to this tournament, so I was just trying to play some good rounds to help the team. I did that the last two rounds so this is perfect.

“This is the biggest team event we could have won and to do it with Rasmus is perfect. But, also with John, John is a great friend and we are all having fun. This is just wonderful.”

The individual title went to Spain’s Alejandro Del Ray by one shot over Japan’s Takumi Kanaya, New Zealand’s Daniel Hillier finished tied for 3rd while Min Woo Lee lived up to his ranking as the best of the Australians when he finished in a share of 6th place.

New Zealand's Daniel Hiller on what was a frustrating final day for his side. Hillier finished 3rd in the Individual

New Zealand’s Denzel Ieremia, who had been one of the stars of the opening three rounds, struggled to a final round of 76, dropping five shots in his last three holes after making in turn in 2 under and keeping alive his team's hopes of a second Eisenhower Trophy.

In the end it would be Hillier (70) and Kerry Mountcastle (71) whose scores counted for the Kiwis on the final day.

For Australia, Lee recovered from an opening round of 72 with rounds of 68, 66 and 68 while Shae Wools-Cobb finished 51st and David Micheluzzi 62nd.  



Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to iseekgolf.com newsletters.

iSeekGolf is Australia’s largest golf tee times website.
To book a tee time at an iSeekGolf venue, visit iseekgolf.com/teetimes


More Articles from Bruce Young