Tour News

Denis McDade PGA Teacher of the Year

(Photo: Bruce Young)
Renowned Victorian PGA Professional Denis McDade was last night honoured as the PGA of Australia's 2012 Teacher of the Year.

McDade, who bases himself at the Yarra Bend Golf Course, accepted the award in front of a room of his peers gathered in Queensland for the Srixon PGA Coaching Summit.

Dedicating the achievement to his late father, McDade was humbled to receive the award that is fittingly named in memory of his former employer, Ross Herbert.

McDade also made special mention of the countless professionals around Australia who do great work without always getting the recognition he had bestowed on him last evening and the quality of those who were nominated. Those nominess were Dale Lynch, Colin Swatton, Ritchie Smith and Gary Barter.

A Member of the PGA for over 20 years, McDade has coached as part of the Victorian Institute of Sport Golf Program for 11 years, and has spent two years as the Scholarship Coach at the AIS Golf Program.

McDade also coaches a number of leading Tournament Professionals including Marcus Fraser, 2012 Travelers Champion Marc Leishman, last weekend's OneAsia winner Matt Griffin, Paul Sheehan, Ash Hall, Gareth Paddison and Clint Rice.

He also coaches 2011 British Amateur Champion Bryden Macpherson, the first Australian to win the championship since Doug Bachli in 1954.

As Head of the Titleist Performance Institute Junior Advisory Board, McDade is also passionate about researching and improving the way junior golf programs are structured and delivered "“ a topic he will present to his peers at today's continuing Srixon PGA Coaching Summit.

"On behalf of the PGA and all my fellow Members, I congratulate Denis on this his latest achievement in what has already been an outstanding career," said Mark Gibson, Chairman of the PGA of Australia.

"Denis has always represented our Association with great passion, and his dedication to the game of golf at all levels commands great respect. I'm sure we will continue to see many more achievements from Denis and his players for many years to come."

The Ross Herbert Teacher of the Year accolade is awarded every two years to coincide with the Srixon PGA Coaching Summit, the pinnacle educational opportunity for Australian PGA Professionals.

Former winners of the award include Steve Bann, Ian Triggs, Gary Edwin, David Milne, Mark Gibson, Gary Barter and Dale Lynch.

The Srixon PGA Coaching Summit will continue at RACV Royal Pines Resort

Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to iseekgolf.com newsletters.

iSeekGolf is Australia’s largest golf tee times website.
To book a tee time at an iSeekGolf venue, visit iseekgolf.com/teetimes


More Articles from PGA of Australia