Tour News

Day wins second Greg Norman Medal

JASON Day has won the Greg Norman Medal for the second consecutive year after another brilliant season in 2016.

WORLD Number One Jason Day has claimed his second consecutive Greg Norman Medal, awarded to the nation's best performing international golfer.

The announcement came at a gala dinner at the Royal Pines Resort, host of this week’s Australian PGA Championship.

Day has the unique honour of being the only golfer to have won the award after also winning the inaugural medal last year.

LPGA player Minjee Lee and Day’s fellow PGA Tour star Adam Scott were also in the running for the prize but in the end the judging panel selected Day after yet another outstanding year.


“I am incredibly honoured to win the Greg Norman Medal for the second year in a row,” the Queensland native said.

“Australian golf is in a great place right now, Adam and Minjee both had excellent seasons, so to be selected again is a real privilege.

"I am really appreciative of everyone’s efforts back home in Australia. My mum and sister are with you tonight.

“Also to Peter O’Malley and the PGA of Australia, I just want to thank everyone and especially Greg, what you have done for the game in Australia and around the world, I just want to thank everyone for making this possible for me."

Day and Greg Norman both joined a live video conference during the dinner with The Shark saying 2016 had been another excellent year for Australia’s international players.

"It’s been a phenomenal year across the board for all Australian Professional golfers,” he said.

“The three nominees this year have done an impressive job on the golf course as well as off the golf course.

"Everyone takes it for granted that they can hit 14 clubs extremely well. The responsibilities that come on the golf course are equal off the course, every one of the three nominees tonight has done a fantastic job of balancing their responsibilities, not only for the sport of golf, but for their country and for themselves individually."

Day won three times in 2016, capturing the Arnold Palmer Invitational, the prestigious Players’ Championship and the WGC World Match Play title.

He also finished runner-up in defending the US PGA title he claimed at Whistling Straist last year, his first career major.

Day was one of several award winners on the night, five-time Open champion Peter Thomson also honoured by being the first PGA member to be elevated from Life Member to Immortal status.

NSW Open winner Adam Blyth was named 2016 ISPS HANDA PGA Tour of Australasia Player of the Year while Stacey Keating was awarded 2016 ALPG Player of the Year.



Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to iseekgolf.com newsletters.

iSeekGolf is Australia’s largest golf tee times website.
To book a tee time at an iSeekGolf venue, visit iseekgolf.com/teetimes


More Articles from Rod Morri