Tour News

Day takes out Greg Norman Medal

JASON Day has been honoured with the inaugural Greg Norman Medal at the RAVC Royal Pines Golf Resort on Tuesday night.

JASON Day has been given Australian golf’s most prestigious award, taking out the inaugural Greg Normal Medal on the Gold Coast.

The honour recognises Australia’s best performing tour professional both in Australia and overseas. This is Day’s second national award after winning the 2015 Don Award from the Australian Sports Hall of Fame in October.

“On behalf of the Australian golf industry I congratulate Jason on winning the inaugural Greg Norman Medal and convey how proud we are of all his achievements this year,” said Brian Thorburn, CEO of the PGA of Australia.

“Jason is a wonderful ambassador for golf and it’s fantastic to see him add the Greg Norman Medal to his list of successes.”  

The Queenslander had a stellar season on the PGA Tour, collecting five victories which included the Farmer's Insurance Open and two FedEx Cup playoff victories. However, his biggest triumph on the way to reaching World Number One was winning his first major, August's PGA Championship.

Adam Scott, Minjee Lee and Karrie Webb were among the nominees. The award's namesake, Greg Norman, was in attendance and said there was no one more deserving.

“Jason has stood out head and shoulders above all the other players, both male and female, and he’s a great representative of Australian golf,” said Norman.

Unfortunately, the man of the hour couldn’t make the event, but accepted the honour via video link with his mother Dening Day accepting the award from Norman.

“It’s an honour and a privilege to win the Greg Norman Medal, it caps off an amazing year,” said Day.

“I’d like to thank the PGA of Australia for launching this medal with Greg Norman and their support over the past 10 years.”

Day was not the only reward recipient, with five Vocational awards also presented:

2015 National Trainee of the Year, Rick Coleman
2014 National Trainee of the Year, Mark Alison
2015 National Club Professional of the Year, Richard Caiolfa (Rich River Golf Club)
2015 National Club Professional of the Year, Ian Pritchard (Mt Osmond Golf Club)
2015 National Teaching Professional of the Year, Stuart Leong (Albert Park Driving Range)

The Greg Norman Medal ceremony was held at the RAVC Royal Pines Resort which is also the host of this week’s Australian PGA Championship.



Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to iseekgolf.com newsletters.

iSeekGolf is Australia’s largest golf tee times website.
To book a tee time at an iSeekGolf venue, visit iseekgolf.com/teetimes


More Articles from Jake O'Brien