Australians play St Andrews Links Trophy

(Photo: Riversdale Golf Club)
The St Andrews Links Trophy, considered one of the more prestigious amateur events in the UK, gets underway at the Old Course at St Andrews this week with eleven Australians and one New Zealander to tee it up over 72 holes at one of golf's great venues. Leading ranked Australian, Brady Watt, Australian Amateur Champion, Cameron Smith, Victorians Nathan Holman, Todd Sinnott and Geoff Drakeford, New South Welshmen Brett Drewitt, Jordan Zunic, Ruben Sondjaja, Callan O'Reilley and Dale Brandt Richards and Smith's fellow Queenslander Viraat Bidhwar along with New Zealand's Vaughn McCall are scheduled to begin the event on Friday afternoon Australian time. Watt, who produced an outstanding run of form in Australia last Summer, is currently the third ranked player in world amateur golf while Cameron Smith is the next best in 15th position. Holman did best of the Australians when 7th at last week's Scottish Open Stroke play event at the Southerness Golf Club in Dumfries. The St Andrews Links Trophy, which was first played for in 1989, has been won on only one occasion by an Australian, that coming in 1990 when Stuart Bouvier was victorious. The event is the final major event in the lead up to the British Amateur Championship at Royal Cinque Ports beginning on June 17th.

Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to iseekgolf.com newsletters.

iSeekGolf is Australia’s largest golf tee times website.
To book a tee time at an iSeekGolf venue, visit iseekgolf.com/teetimes


More Articles from Bruce Young