Tour News

Australians defending Espirito Santo Trophy

The winning Australian side in 2014 (Photo: USGA)
The next month will see significant activity in the ranks of world amateur golf with the staging of the World Amateur Teams Championships for both men and women being held back to back near Cancun in Mexico followed in the first week of October by the Asia Pacific Amateur Championship held in Incheon in Korea.

The first of these events is the World Amateur Teams Championship for women (also known as the Espirito Santo Trophy) which gets under way at the Mayakoba El Camaleón and Iberostar Playa Paraíso Golf Clubs in Riviera on September 14th.

Each country fields a team of three with the leading two scores each day counting towards the team total.  

Australia will defend the title they won in 2014 in Japan when Minjee Lee, Su Oh and Shelley Shin were successful, both Lee and Oh, now LPGA Tour professionals and Shin returning to her homeland of Korea after being part of the Australian golfing system.

Australia also won the event in 1978 and 2002 although the favourites in 2016 will no doubt be the South Korean side who won in 2012 and 2010 and have an almost production line of top class amateurs and professionals regularly emerging from that country.

This year West Australian Hannah Green and Queenslanders Robyn Choi and Karis Davidson will fly the Australian flag.  

Hannah Green in action in Mexico during practice with Karis Davidson watching on courtesy of Steve Gibbons USGA

Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to iseekgolf.com newsletters.

iSeekGolf is Australia’s largest golf tee times website.
To book a tee time at an iSeekGolf venue, visit iseekgolf.com/teetimes


More Articles from Bruce Young