Tour News

Trending Lee Returns to Site of Breakthrough

Western Australian Minjee Lee captured her maiden LPGA title at the Kingsmill Championship in 2015. (Photo: Getty Images)
Minjee Lee will chase her second Kingsmill Championship title in three years while defending champion Ariya Jutanugarn and So Yeon Ryu will each vie for the World No. 1 ranking when the LPGA Tour event gets underway in Virginia on Thursday night (AEST). 

Currently ranked third and within striking distance of No. 1 Lydia Ko, Jutanugarn has been inside the top 10 in eight of her 10 starts this season but has yet to win in 2017, her last start runner-up finish in Mexico one of three such finishes this year.

Also in this week’s field is Ko, who has a best of fifth from three starts at this event while the current leading money winner Ryu has recorded four top 10s from four visits to the Kingsmill.

Ryu's form in 2017 has been exceptional with top-10 finishes in all seven starts including a major victory and two runner-ups.

One player who might have a say in all this however is Lee who appears to have a rapport with the Kingsmill Resort’s River Course having won in 2015 and finished 10th last year.

Lee finished fifth at her last start in Texas and was third two starts prior to that and was also third at the Women’s Australian Open in February. This could be the week for the Western Australian, who turns 21 next week, to win her fourth LPGA Tour title.

Lee’s fellow countrywoman Su Oh played beautifully in this event last year, firing a final round 65 to finish runner-up behind Jutanugarn.

Oh has struggled this season but, given her performance here last year, this could be the chance to turn that form around.

Sarah Jane Smith is having a fine season and gets a chance to continue her run on a golf course she too has played well on. Smith finished runner-up to Lizette Salas in 2014 and, although she has not contended often this year, she has not missed a cut in 10 starts and was third at the Women’s Australian Open.

Australians Karrie Webb, another former winner of the event, Katherine Kirk and Sarah Kemp also get their chance.









Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to iseekgolf.com newsletters.

iSeekGolf is Australia’s largest golf tee times website.
To book a tee time at an iSeekGolf venue, visit iseekgolf.com/teetimes


More Articles from Bruce Young