Tour News

Australian Espirito Santo chances good

(Photo: Bruce Young)
The 26th World Amateur Teams Championship begins this week at the Karuizawa 72 East Golf Club to the north and west of Tokyo, the Espirito Santo Trophy for the women the first of the events to be played over the next two weeks and beginning on September 3rd.

A total of 51 teams have entered the women's event. The record is 53 in Turkey in 2012, and 52 competed in 2010 in Argentina. The new entrant in 2014 is team from Nigeria.

The Women's World Amateur Team Championship is celebrating 50 years in 2014. The first championship, won by France, was played 1-4 Oct. 1964 at St. Germain Golf Club, St. Germain (Paris), France. Twenty five teams competed that year and each of those nations is represented at the 2014 championship except Chile and Bermuda.

Both the Espirito Santo and the Eisenhower Trophy for the men beginning on September 10th are played over 72 holes of strokeplay.

Australia has won the Espirito Santo on only two previous occasions since first held in 1964, those victories coming in 1978 and 2002.

In 1978 Lindy Goggin, Edwina Kennedy and Jane Lock won in Pacific Harbour in Fiji then in 2002 Katherine Kirk (nee Hull), Lindsey Wright and Vicky Thomas (nee Uwland) won in Kuala Lumpur.

The Australian women's Espirito Santo Trophy team is Minjee Lee (Western Australia), Su-Hyun Oh (Victoria) and Shelly Shin (NSW). The women's team coach will be Shani Waugh (Western Australia).

With Lee the world number one amateur, Oh the 5th ranked amateur in women's golf and Shin doing well at the recent US Junior Amateur, the Australian team is expected to have a very good chance of defeating the likes of Korea and the US, Korea winning the event in each of the last two time times it has been staged.

The Australian men's Eisenhower Trophy Team consists of Geoff Drakeford who has just returned from a successful northern hemisphere summer playing amateur events in the US, world junior champion Ryan Ruffels and talented Victorian Lucas Hebert.

Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to iseekgolf.com newsletters.

iSeekGolf is Australia’s largest golf tee times website.
To book a tee time at an iSeekGolf venue, visit iseekgolf.com/teetimes


More Articles from Bruce Young