Elite Amateur

Australian side set for Women’s Amateur Asia-Pacific

Queensland's Becky Kay has been named among Australia's six-strong team. (Photo: Henry Peters)
Australia has announced its six-woman team to play for a pair of major championship starts at next year's inaugural Women’s Amateur Asia-Pacific golf championship.

Australia’s top ranked player Kirsty Hodgkins, fellow Queenslander Robyn Choi and Grace Kim from NSW each earned automatic selection based on their world rankings for landmark event at the Sentosa Golf Club in Singapore from February 21st – 24th.

They will be joined in the Australian team by Victorians Julienne Soo and Alizza Hetherington as well as Queenslander Becky Kay who were nominated as Golf Australia picks.

New Zealanders Wenyung Keh, Amelia Garvey, Juliana Hung, Britney Dryland, Rose Zheng and Caryn Khoo have all secured their place based on their World Amateur Golf Rankings and availability.

The winner of the event will secure a start at next year's Ricoh Women’s British Open and the ANA Inspiration along with a start the following week at the HSBC Champions event also at Sentosa Golf Club.

A maximum of six players from each country (other than the host country which will have 10) are allowed.

Jointly promoted by the R&A and the Asia Pacific Golf Confederation, the Women’s Amateur Asia-Pacific also has some financial support from the Masters Tournament.

The brand-new event has been designed to follow in the footsteps and hopefully achieve some of the success that the men’s equivalent event, the Asia Pacific Amateur Championship, has achieved in promoting the game in the Asia Pacific Region.

The winners of that event include Hideki Matsuyama and Guan Tianlang and their subsequent success has played a key role in raising the profile of the game.  

A total of 86 players will make up the Women’s Amateur Asia-Pacific field and it is expected that around 20 countries will be represented.


Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to iseekgolf.com newsletters.

iSeekGolf is Australia’s largest golf tee times website.
To book a tee time at an iSeekGolf venue, visit iseekgolf.com/teetimes


More Articles from Bruce Young