Australia sixth on day one of Eisenhower

The Australian team of Matt Jager, Kieran Pratt and Bryden Macpherson are in a tie for sixth place, six strokes behind first round leaders, France, at the World Amateur Team Championships in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Jager, the 2010 Australian and New Zealand Amateur champion, was the best of the Aussies opening with a 1-under-par to be in a tie for 9th in the individual standings. Pratt combined with Jager to post Australia's two scores with an even par round after Macpherson opened with a disappointing 10-over-par, 82.

France presently leads the championship at 7-under par following rounds of 68 (-4) for Alexander Levy and 69 (-3) for Romain Wattel.

Wattel, who plans to turn professional shortly after the championship, won a European Challenge Tour event (Allianz European Strasbourg in La Walentzau, France) in September where he shot a final-round 67 to overcome a four-stroke deficit to win by three strokes. In 2010, he also won the Scottish Amateur.

New Zealand have also made an impressive start to the championship to be in a share of eighth place with Ben Campbell firing an impressive opening round of 2-under-par to be in a tie for 5th in the individual standings, two behind current leader Denmark's, Joachim Hansen who was the best of the field with an opening 4-under-par round.

Only 16 sub-par scores were recorded in the opening round, with seven at Olivos Golf Club and nine at Buenos Aires Golf Club. The efforts of Jager and Campbell being amongst the sub-par number reflective of their impressive opening rounds.

Tournament favourites the USA will be disappointed with its opening plus-1 start that has the team in a tie for 9th. Scott Langley, who had a top-16 finish at this year's US Open to take a share of low amateur honours, was the best of the Americans with an even-par round. Peter Uihlein, the 2010 US Amateur Champion, fired a plus-1 opening round, with 2010 Western Amateur Champion, David Chung, opening with a plus-2 round.

The defending champions Scotland are currently in a tie for 41st position after opening with a combined total of plus-8.

The last occasion an Australian team was in contention was in 1998, finishing runners-up to Great Britain and Ireland with Kim Felton winning the individual standings. Two years earlier in 1996, Australia were winners of the Eisenhower Trophy over Sweden in a team that included Brett Partridge, Jarrod Moseley, Jamie Crow and David Gleeson.

Australia's best performances in recent years are two 3rd place finishes in 2000 and 2003, while in 2008, the Australian team of Tim Stewart, Rohan Blizard and Matt Griffin finished Australia finished in 6th position at 2-under-par, eighteen strokes behind winners, Scotland.

Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to newsletters.

iSeekGolf is Australia’s largest golf tee times website.
To book a tee time at an iSeekGolf venue, visit


More Articles from Anthony Powter