Tour News

Aussies to Defend Queen Sirikit Cup

(Photo: Bruce Young)
Golf Australia has selected the team to defend Australia's Queen Sirikit Cup title at Saujana Golf and Country Club, Malaysia from 9-11 April 2014.

The Australian team members are: Minjee Lee (WA), Su-Hyun Oh (VIC) and Hannah Green (WA).
The team will be defending the title won by one stroke in 2013 at Sunrise Golf and Country Club in Taiwan. It was Australia's first victory at the tournament since 2001.

World Number 1 amateur Lee, 17, has had a superb Australian summer, winning the Oates Victorian Women's Open, successfully defending her Australian Amateur Championship and finishing second at the Volvik RACV Ladies Masters.

Oh, 17, is a former Australian Junior champion who finished runner-up at the Ladies Masters in 2013 and the Callaway World Junior Championship in 2012. Both Oh and Lee were in the victorious Queen Sirikit team last year.

Green, also 17, won the 2013 WA Women's Stroke Play Championship and finished runner-up in the 2013 Australian Junior Championship. She is a two-time runner-up at the Lake Macquarie Amateur Championship.

Golf Australia High Performance Manager Matt Cutler will be the Team Manager and former LPGA Tour player Shani Waugh will be the Team Coach.

The championship is hosted annually on a rotation basis among 14 invited member countries with the objectives of promoting the standard of women's golf in the region and to promote goodwill and friendship among participating teams. Each country is represented by 2-3 national team players who compete in the 54-holes stroke play over 3 rounds.

Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to iseekgolf.com newsletters.

iSeekGolf is Australia’s largest golf tee times website.
To book a tee time at an iSeekGolf venue, visit iseekgolf.com/teetimes


More Articles from Golf Australia