Tour News

Ariya Jutanugarn wins 8th LPGA Tour Title

Thailand's Ariya Jutanugarn won her second Kingsmill title in three years.
Thailand’s Ariya Jutanugarn has survived a dramatic three-way playoff to win her second Kingsmill Championship in three years and 8th LPGA Tour title.

The former World No. 1 defeated Japan’s Nasa Hataoka and South Korean In Gee Chun in extra holes at Kingsmill Resort in Pennsylvannia after the trio finished one shot ahead of Canadian Brooke Henderson whose closing 65 was the best of the day.

Jutanugarn, the 2016 Kingsmill winner, fired a closing 66 to join overnight leader Chun and Hataoke on 14 under at the end of regulation play and needed birdies at both playoff holes to secure the title.

Chun bowed out after missing a birdie chance at the first extra hole before Jutanugarn birdied the second playoff hole to defeat Hataoka.

The victory was Jutanugarn’s first in 2018 but was her 8th top ten in 12 starts.

Hataoka is in her second season on the LPGA Tour after losing her status during her rookie season in 2017. She was Medallist at last year’s LPGA Tour School and appears to be finding her feet at the top level.

Minjee Lee and Karrie Webb tied as the leading Australians in 19th position, Webb playing just her third event of 2018. Su Oh was the only other Australian to make the cut and finished 25th.

The LPGA play the LPGA Volvik Championship in Ann Arbor in Michigan next week followed by the US Women’s Open at Shoal Creek in Alabama a week later.


Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to iseekgolf.com newsletters.

iSeekGolf is Australia’s largest golf tee times website.
To book a tee time at an iSeekGolf venue, visit iseekgolf.com/teetimes


More Articles from Bruce Young