Elite Amateur

Amateur Golf's Premier Team Events Loom in Ireland

Min Woo Lee is the leading world ranked player in either of Australia's World Amateur teams. (Photo: Henry Peters)
There are no bigger teams event in the amateur game than the biennial men’s and women’s World Amateur Team Championships which will be played over the next weeks in Ireland, beginning with the women's version on Wednesday local time. 

Carton House, in Maynooth, near Dublin, plays host to the Women’s event where the Espirito Santo Trophy will go on the line before Australia's leading male amateurs defend their country's Eisenhower Trophy title from two years ago from September 5-8.

Each team has two or three (maximum) players and plays 18-holes of stroke play for four days.

In each round, the total of the two lowest scores from each team constitutes the team score for the round.

The four-day (72-hole) total is the team’s score for the championship.

Members of the winning teams receive gold medals, members of the second-place teams receive silver medals and members of the third-place teams receive bronze medals.

17-year-old women's team member Grace Kim during a 2018 Women's Australian Open practice round with Karrie Webb.

The lowest individual score in each championship is recognised at the respective closing ceremonies, but no prize is awarded.

Australia has won the Espirito Santo on three occasions in 1978, 2002 and 2014, the last of those coming in Japan when Minjee Lee, Su Oh and Shelly Shin were successful.

The Australian women's side in 2018 consists of US-based Queenslander Kirsty Hodgkins, Queensland's Rebecca Kay and Grace Kim of Sydney.

The men's side in 2018 includes West Australian Min Woo Lee, Victorian David Micheluzzi and Queensland's Shae Wools Cobb.

While an impressive threesome of players, they face the daunting task of repeating the success of then amateurs Cameron Davis, Curtis Luck and Harrison Endycott in Mexico in 2016.


Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to iseekgolf.com newsletters.

iSeekGolf is Australia’s largest golf tee times website.
To book a tee time at an iSeekGolf venue, visit iseekgolf.com/teetimes


More Articles from Bruce Young