Allenby named Golf Writers' Honouree

Robert Allenby has been named the Australian Golf Writers Association Honouree of the Year for 2012.

In announcing the award association president Brendan Moloney said: "We are delighted that Robert is our 2012 recipient. He joins a distinguished group of former winners including the late Norman von Nida, Peter Thomson, Kel Nagle, Rachel Hetherington, Karrie Webb, Jan Stephenson, Greg Norman, Jack Newton, Max Garske and Bob and Kathie Shearer".

"We have watched his progress on the world golfing stage, from the time he was the clubhouse leader in the 1991 Australian Open as an amateur to winning our Open, PGA and Masters in the same year as a pro, along with victories in Europe and America."

"We also honour him for his untiring work for Challenge Cancer and children with cancer both in Australia and overseas for more than 20 years. Most people are aware of the many millions of dollars his annual golf day has raised for Challenge. Not so well known though is his personal involvement with children suffering from cancer and their families."

Allenby said: "I feel very humbled by this award and consider it an honour to accept. Golf has been my life and being acknowledged in this way by Australia's golfing media is something that my family and I are proud of. I thank the members of the Australian Golf Writers Association for honouring me in this way."

The 2012 Australian Golf Writers Association Honouree of the Year Award will be presented at the AGWA annual dinner at the Lakes Golf Club Sydney on Saturday 8 December after the third round of the Australian Open.

Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to newsletters.

iSeekGolf is Australia’s largest golf tee times website.
To book a tee time at an iSeekGolf venue, visit


More Articles from