enhance
Tour News

Aguilar gets four stroke penalty for rules gaffe

Golfer Felipe Aguilar has been penalised four shots at the Turkish Open for replacing a club in his bag between a suspension of play.

CHILEAN Felipe Aguilar was hit with a four-shot penalty following the completion of his second round of the European golf tour's Turkish Airlines Open in Belek on Saturday.

Aguilar replaced a club in his bag in between a suspension of play in the second round on Friday and the recommencement to the round on Saturday morning.

The Santiago-born golfer, who turned 40 last week, had moved to three-under-par through 13 holes when play was halted and under Rule 4-4 he was penalised two strokes for 'each hole which any breach occurred with the maximum penalty per round - four strokes'.

It meant the winner of this year's The Championship in Singapore had to record a double bogey at his 13th and 14th holes in an eventual round of 74 for a two-over-par 36-hole total.

The incident brought back memories of a similar ruling handed to Welshman Ian Woosnam on the final day of the 2001 British Open at Royal Lytham and St Annes.

Woosnam stood on the first tee tied for the lead with three others but it was not until the second hole that he was informed by his caddy that there were 15 clubs in his bag - one more than allowed under the rules.

Woosnam, who was seeking to win a second major after capturing the 1991 Masters, was hit with a two-stroke penalty and showed his disgust by throwing the 15th club, a driver, into long grass.

Woosnam ended up sharing third place in that tournament, four shots behind American David Duval, while it also cost the Welshman a place on the European Ryder Cup team.

AAP

Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to iseekgolf.com newsletters.

iSeekGolf
iSeekGolf is Australia’s largest golf tee times website.
To book a tee time at an iSeekGolf venue, visit iseekgolf.com/teetimes

 

More Articles from AAP