Tour News

2019-2021 Women's Australian Open Venues Unveiled

Next year's Women's Australian Open will return to 2016 venue, The Grange.
Golf Australia has announced the venues for the 2019, 2020 and 2021 Women's Australian Opens and it should come as no great surprise to golf fans where the event is headed.

The 2019 ISPS Handa Women’s Australian Open will be played at The Grange Golf Club in Adelaide from 14-17 February before the LPGA Tour-sanctioned event moves to Royal Adelaide in 2020 and this year's venue, Kooyonga Golf Club, in 2021.

"We have had tremendous support from all in South Australia, no more so than with our host clubs in the past three years," said Golf Australia chief executive Stephen Pitt.

The rotation will be a repeat of the 2016, 2017 and 2018 championships which went from The Grange to Royal Adelaide to Kooyonga.

"It's with great delight that we will return to the same clubs again for the next three years," Pitt added.

"With the response collectively that we've enjoyed from fans who've attended, the LPGA and its players and the clubs themselves, we're delighted to chart a similar path for our second to give everyone certainty to plan."

South Australian Minister for Trade, Tourism and Investment David Ridgway said this year's Women's Open at Kooyonga - which attracted a total of 33,277 fans - was the highest recorded attendance in the event's history. 

"We are delighted that the event strikes a chord with the people of South Australia,” he said.

"But we're also encouraged to see the national and international reach of the tournament continue to expand and with so many of the LPGA's great players so happy to come from all corners to play our fabulous courses, the exposure it generates for us a global destination and the boost to our visitor economy are both brilliant."

Next year's Women's Open will be the first event of the LPGA Tour's Asia-Pacific swing and LPGA Tour commissioner Mike Whan said his players would continue to bolster the event.

“It has been fantastic to watch this event grow in Australia since we joined in partnership with Golf Australia in 2012,” Whan said.

“The LPGA Tour is now played in 14 countries around the world and features players from 31 countries in every point of the globe and Australia will continue to be a very important stop for us.


Want video tips delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to iseekgolf.com newsletters.

iSeekGolf is Australia’s largest golf tee times website.
To book a tee time at an iSeekGolf venue, visit iseekgolf.com/teetimes


More Articles from iseekgolf.com